Just in case it happenend to you

I already told you how I am used to being the IT-support for my family and friends. I am this used to it, that I am volunteering information right now. (Since thats mostly what we’ve been doing, thats not really news, but I wanted to be able to link this post to an older post, just because I can). Anyway, the other day I noticed that spotlight did not search my external volumes anymore. Don’t ask me how I noticed it, I just did, then I did some testing by looking for files, I obviously knew that they were on that volume and it again did not find them. I tried unplugging the volume, didn’t help either. I figured that it would have something to do with the index spotlight creates for every volume. So I went on the internet and googled this at the macrumors forum:

From the Apple menu, choose System Preferences.

bild-13

Click Spotlight.

bild-23

Click the Privacy tab.

bild-31

Drag a folder or even an entire volume (your hard drive) to the list.

bild-41

Remove the item or volume you just added.

bild-51

Spotlight will re-index the contents of the item you initially dragged to the list.

To cut a long story short: It works again, awesome!

Btw, I have no idea why it didn’t work in the first place.

Leave a Reply

