New EncFS Plugin for Macfusion2 released

Finally, I’ve managed to update my EncFS Plugin for Macfusion2. It now requires EncFS 1.7.4 to be installed in /usr/local/bin. The easiest way to do this, is by using Homebrew.

I hope this will solve many of the problems prople had with the old version.

See the EncFS page for details!

7 responses to “New EncFS Plugin for Macfusion2 released

  1. Thank you so much. Which version of MacFusion I’ve to use with Snow Leopard 10.6.7? There so many Betas and Experimental Builds so I have lost track of it.

  2. Found this on macupdate.com:

    1) Install http://macfuse.googlecode.com/files/MacFUSE-2.0.3%2C2.dmg – RESTART
    2) Install http://www.tuxera.com/mac/macfuse-core-10.5-2.1.9.dmg – RESTART
    3) Install http://content.wuala.com/contents/grahamperrin/public/2010/07/31/a/MacFUSE.prefPane-2.0-64-bit-2009-09-10.zip?dl=1

    Which kind of works. I’m able to get into the plugin in window but as soon as configured everything and I hit the ok button, I will get:

    “Invalid value for rawPath No EncFS key file found”

  3. I’ve found a workaround. You could add the database manual via:

    “encfs ~/.foobar ~/foobar”

    And the add them to the plugin inside macfusion without any errors.

    • Hi la-tristesse,

      could you please be a little bit more detailled about
      ““encfs ~/.foobar ~/foobar”

      And the add them to the plugin inside macfusion without any errors.”
      I’m running in the same error, but don’t understand your solution.
      Tia,
      JEns

  4. I’ve come up with a similar solution for using MacFUSE, EncFS, Macfusion & your EncFS plugin with Dropbox – but with the added bonus of storing the .encfs6.xml key on the local filesystem. In the event that your Dropbox is compromised your key will be totally safe.

    See http://webdiary.com/2011/07/04/securing-dropbox/

  5. You will have to use the terminal with the standard command “encfs ~/.decrypted-dir ~/encrypted-dir” (without quoations). Also the directores should exist before running the command. Afterwards you could add the path into GUI from MacFusion.

  6. Mahatma_fatal_error

    Hi La_Tristesse
    I’ve done this so far in the terminal, but as I’m promted to enter the password for the crypted FS twice, this appears:

    encfs(74465) malloc: *** error for object 0x1005243b8: incorrect checksum for freed object – object was probably modified after being freed.
    *** set a breakpoint in malloc_error_break to debug
    Abort trap

    Any ideas ?

    Kind Regards

Leave a comment